

Communique – AFA AGM and membership meeting 29-30 October 2019

We were honoured and delighted to welcome Jennifer Coate AO, former Commissioner for the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, to the meeting as our new patron.

AFA appointed new members, farewelled retiring members, and set its priorities for the next year.

We farewelled Forgotten Australians Marlene Wilson and Tony Wright from Queensland, and Jim Myers from the Northern Territory.

Maree Holt from Victoria continues as an AFA member for another three years.

Kevin O'Neil, a Forgotten Australian Board member from South Australian, was elected to AFA's Executive.

Pamella Vernon was elected as an Affiliate Member, and remains our Vice President.

Kerry Pritchard, a Forgotten Australian from New South Wales, was elected to the Board.

We welcomed Forgotten Australians to the membership: Valadia Cooper and Chris Bannah from Queensland; Les Batchelor from Tasmania, and Daryl Higgins from New South Wales.

AFA was very pleased to have two senior managers from the Department of Social Services meet with us, and respond to the questions and issues raised by members. AFA has always worked hard to build and nurture strong and constructive relationships with all governments.

We also had a very positive discussion with Craig Gear and Jennie Burrows of the Older Persons Advocacy Network and identified a number of ways we could work together to support older Forgotten Australians.

Priorities for AFA for the coming year will include:

- Ensure that all services are safe and enduring places for Forgotten Australians, particularly state support services.
- Engage in partnerships with stakeholders in the aged care sector to provide education about the issues and needs of Forgotten Australians as they age.

- Monitor, engage with and provide feedback on the National Redress Scheme, including the proposed evaluation.
- Ensure that AFA and the engagement of lived experience practitioners informs the implementation of the initiatives announced at the National Apology to Victims and Survivors of Institutional Child Sexual Abuse in 2018, and specifically the Centre for Excellence and National Museum.
- Lobby for action on all governments' unfinished business for Forgotten Australians, acknowledging that it has been ten years since the National Apology to Forgotten Australians and Former Child Migrants, and despite significant achievements, much remains to be done.

'I'm delighted to see AFA grow from strength to strength. I'm proud to be part of a team that welcomes new members so warmly, and which works so hard and yet so constructively and positively to make sure that Forgotten Australians remain a powerful voice to government,' said Caroline Carroll OAM, Chair of AFA.

AFA in 2019-20

Board

Caroline Carroll OAM, Chairperson (VIC)
Pamella Vernon, Vice-President, affiliate member (NSW)
Reg Casley, Treasurer (WA)
Simon Gardiner, affiliate member, Secretary (VIC)
Kevin O'Neil (SA)
Karyn Walsh AM, (QLD)
Yvonne Porter (NSW)
David Henderson (TAS)
Gordon Hill (WA)
Heather May (NT)
Michelle McDonald (VIC)
Alison Smyth (SA)
Kerry Pritchard (NSW)

Members

Jules Carroll (TAS)
Maree Holt (VIC)
Suzanne Burke (WA)
Kerry Pritchard (NSW)
Crystal Keitaanpa (NT)
Luci Lovelock (SA)
Les Batchelor OAM JP (TAS)
Valadia Cooper (QLD)
Chris Bannah (QLD)
Darryl Higgins (NSW)