

## Communique – AFA AGM and membership meeting 27-28 November 2018

AFA met to appoint new members, farewell retiring members, and set its priorities for the next year.

We farewelled Josephine Littlehawk and Steven Page from South Australia, who had worked very hard for AFA over the last three years. We also thanked Karyn Walsh AM, who retired after three years as Treasurer but remains on the Board.

Reg Casley from Western Australia was appointed as our new Treasurer and member of AFA's Executive.

We welcomed Forgotten Australians to the Board: Kevin O'Neil and Alison Smyth from South Australia; and as members Suzanne Burke from Western Australia; Tony Wright from Queensland; and Kerry Pritchard from New South Wales.

AFA was very pleased to have two senior managers from the Department of Social Services give us an update on redress, and respond to the questions and issues raised by members. AFA has always worked hard to build and nurture strong and constructive relationships with all governments.

Priorities for AFA for the coming year will include:

- Monitoring, engaging with and providing feedback on the National Redress Scheme, including the proposed evaluation.
- Ensuring that AFA and the engagement of lived experience practitioners informs the implementation of the initiatives announced at the National Apology to Victims and Survivors of Institutional Child Sexual Abuse in 2018, and specifically the Centre for Excellence and National Museum.
- Lobbying for action on all governments' unfinished business for Forgotten Australians to commemorate the 10<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the National Apology in 2019.

'I'm delighted to see AFA grow from strength to strength. I was proud to be part of a team that welcomed new members so warmly, and which worked so hard to make sure that Forgotten Australians remain a powerful voice to government on redress policy,' said Caroline Carroll OAM, Chair of AFA.

## AFA in 2018-19

## **Board**

Caroline Carroll OAM, Chairperson (VIC)
Pamella Vernon, Vice-President (NSW)
Reg Casley, Treasurer (WA)
Simon Gardiner, affiliate member, Secretary (VIC)
Karyn Walsh AM, (QLD)
Marlene Wilson (QLD)
Yvonne Porter (NSW)
David Henderson (TAS)
Gordon Hill (WA)
Heather May (NT)
Michelle McDonald (VIC)
Alison Smyth (SA)
Kevin O'Neil (SA)

## **Members**

Jules Carroll (TAS)
Maree Holt (VIC)
Suzanne Burke (WA)
Tony Wright (QLD)
Kerry Pritchard (NSW)
Crystal Keitaanpa (NT)
Jim Myers (NT)
Namam Salih (SA)